Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
bartonichole
17 juillet 2015

Broccoli Aglio e Olio with Gremolata Breadcrumbs

6I first had Spaghetti Aglio Olio with Broccoli on a roadtrip to Woodstock, NY with my older sister and her then boyfriend (later husband). I've loved it since. Looking back Dermes, that version was probably nothing special, but as a teenager trying out vegetarianism in a house of meat eaters, it was a symbol of adulthood and freedom that I could choose a new, and for my parents, radical way of eating.

My sister, nine years older, was a huge influence on me when I was growing up. She brought me books and exposed me to new food experiences such as fresh vegetables (particularly broccoli), stir fries and home baked cookies. She bought me my first cookbooks, the Moosewood when I went to college and Susan Branch's Heart of the Home for my first wedding anniversary. I was a latecomer to cooking, but other than Jewish holiday food, most of my early influences came from her.

Sadly, it was also my sister who set me on my current course, cooking wise. She died three years ago, of a sudden heart attack at age 53. Doctors have advised me that the cardiac history of a sibling is even more telling than that of a parent. So, in an effort to do whatever possible to fight genetics, I try to eat well while being well.

I miss her everyday, so it's in her honor that I submit this recipe as the one I'd like to be remembered for. I came up with this last year for the broccoli contest in an attempt to recreate the dish I loved so long ago. I've updated it and made it my own. This recipe includes anchovies, so it's no longer vegetarian, but then, neither am I.

This is a spin on a classic Italian pasta dish, turning everyday ingredients (many of which you may already have in your pantry) into a special pasta dish with strong flavors and a welcome crunch. The anchovy filets and Aleppo pepper up the flavor quotient, while the herbed breadcrumbs elevate it to something you could serve dinner guests. I loved how garlicky this recipe was, but use less than the full six cloves if you'd like it to be milder. Note: If you cannot find Aleppo pepper Dermes, a 3:1 ratio of paprika to cayenne can be used.

Serves 4 as a main course, more as a side dish

For the broccoli

Salt, to taste
1 large bunches broccoli, cut into florets (about 6 cups)
1/4 cup olive oil, plus 2 tablespoons
3/4 pound spaghetti, whole wheat or semolina, both work fine
5 cloves garlic, minced
2 fat anchovy fillets
1 teaspoon Aleppo pepper

For the "gremolata" bread crumbs

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced
2 teaspoons lemon zest
2 tablespoons chopped parsley
1/3 cup bread crumbs (I use whole wheat)

Heat oven to 425° F.

Put a pot of salted water on to boil for the spaghetti.

Place broccoli florets on a half sheet pan. Drizzle 2 tablespoons olive oil over top and toss to coat. Sprinkle a little kosher or sea salt over top. Roast in oven for 15 to 20 minutes. You want them to cook through and brown a little. Throw the little tiny florets and bits of broccoli into the pan as well -- they will crisp up a bit and provide a nice crunch.

Once the water is boiling, add the pasta and cook to "al dente" according to directions on the package.

Heat a high-sided sauté pan, with enough room for the whole recipe, over medium to medium-low heat. Add the 1/4 cup olive oil and then the 5 cloves of garlic. Let the garlic soften and brown a little, but not burn. Add the anchovies and stir until the anchovies dissolve. Add the Aleppo pepper and a sprinkle of salt. Once everything is mixed, leave the burner on very low to keep this warm.

Heat up a small skillet over medium heat and add 1 tablespoon olive oil. Add the remaining garlic and let it soften and lightly brown. Add the lemon zest and parsley, and then the bread crumbs and mix well. Lower burner to medium-low and let the bread crumb mixture toast lightly.

Once the broccoli is well roasted, add it to the pan with the garlic and anchovy Dermes. Mix well to coat.

Reserve 1/2 cup pasta water and drain the pasta. Add the pasta to the pan and toss well. If the mixture seems dry, add some of the pasta water a few splashes at a time.

Add about 3/4 of the bread crumb mixture to the pan and mix well.

Once the pasta mixture is in a serving dish, sprinkle the remaining bread crumbs over the top.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
bartonichole
Publicité
Archives
Publicité