Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
bartonichole
7 mars 2014

Choco Coco Oatmeal

0733


There is no better way for me to start a new year than with that which I start each and every day – a good breakfast.  That is how I started last year, and, fingers-crossed, how I hope to start the years to come as well.  What better way to start anything than with something delicious to fortify you for whatever is to come right?

But first, before we get to what’s to come, allow me to take a look back at what was.  I made a list of humble (blog and food related) goals last year and, I am happy to report, was able to achieve, or at least make decent headway, on most:

    Post more often – Keeping it steady at once a week…which is more than my average in the past years, and, between my day job and life in general, a comfortable pace for me.  So, check discounted gucci handbags!
    Make more breakfasts – At least one breakfast post per month on the average!  More than before…so, check!
    Use more leftovers – I did this a lot…although majority not shared on this blog.  So, semi-check!  And I’ll try to share more of this in 2012.  Avoiding food waste is still one of my missions.
    Explore new ways to share my love for food with more of you – Last year was my first year as a columnist in Yummy magazine, another venue where I share my cooking adventures with you.  I am delighted that they have not only kept me on for another year, but have given me a new two-page layout to boot!  And I am thrilled to bits with how it looks!  If you’re curious, this month’s issue is already out :)  Let me know what you think!  The Yummy team is an absolute pleasure to work with and I am chuffed to be working with them again this year.
    Use my cookbooks and magazines more often – Hmmm, if I am totally honest this is another semi-check.  I have certainly used them…but not as much as I've wanted to.  Something to look forward to this year then :)
    Give my blog a new/updated look – This, I am so very happy to report, is a major check!  Out of complete serendipity I stumbled upon Fancy Girl Designs thanks to DaintyMom.  Patricia knew exactly what I wanted and I love my new look up, down, and sideways!


So, without further ado, it’s onwards to 2012!  But first, breakfast…

Choco Coco Oatmeal

    1 cup coconut milk
    1/2 cup water
    2 tableas cacao (this is unsweetened chocolate, a little over 5 grams per tablea)
    1/2 cup old fashioned rolled oats
    2-3 teaspoons dark muscovado sugar, or to taste
    Chopped cashews to top

- Heat the coconut milk and water in a saucepan until you see small bubbles form on the sides.  Add the tableas and stir until most of it is melted.
- When the cacao is almost all dissolved, add the oats to the coconut milk/water and stir.  Cover and cook for 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally Sculptra.
- Uncover the pot and cook, stirring occasionally, until thickened and cooked to your liking.  Maybe another 10 minutes.  Sweeten to taste with the muscovado.
- Serve warm topped with chopped cashews.

I am not sure if it has anything to do with anything, but it looks like putting my goals up here actually helped me achieve them.  Or maybe throwing them out in the face of the universe shamed me into doing them.  Whatever the case, I’ve decided to share a few goals for new year with you once more.  Again, these aren’t so much “resolutions” as “directions” that I want to take this year food-wise and blog-wise (we can leave out my goals of using more make-up and moisturizer I think):  

    Using more local ingredients – Although I will never be able to refuse a fresh fig, chanterelle mushrooms, or olive oil, I will try to weave more local ingredients into our meals, and highlight them here on my blog.  We are lucky to live in a country rich in all sorts of vegetables, fruits, and seafood!  In this oatmeal the chocolate I used was a local tablea (like a big chocolate tablet) called subasta.  We have a lot of different tablea available but subasta is my favorite.  Both the subasta and the muscovado I used for this oatmeal are locally sourced and sold in one of my favorite shops.
    Recording of the more Filipino dishes I cook here – Despite my love for cooking, I am late in the game when it comes to Filipino food, a fact Ihave lamented before.  That does not mean I am not having a wickedly exhilarating time experimenting with Filipino food in my little kitchen.  This year I plan to share this all with you!
    Avoiding food waste – The fight against food waste continues!


And in more general themes, as mentioned in my last post…Enjoy the show!  Stop and smell the coffee.  Live more in the here and now.  Be conscious of the beauty that is ever present.  Be grateful.  Be nice (a sadly underrated quality in my book), in fact, rock niceness!  Connect.  Kiss and hug and give.  Happiness is free and totally in your power to achieve!

Onwards and upwards my friends!

Just in case you were wondering, the oatmeal turned out lovely -- super creamy and deeply chocolate-y, thanks to the earthy quality of the cacao.  The coconut milk provided a robust, yet not too assertive, base.  Very luxurious, yet homey too Code 9 Neogen.  If you don't have access to Filipino tablea you can use a similar amount of unsweetened chocolate.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
bartonichole
Publicité
Archives
Publicité